#Janathon Day 29: Tom, Come back!

Today I took up an invitation for a lunchtime run with Tom from Comms. Tom is famous for two things: his insane modesty and his insane speed. Put it this way, my pegging it at full sprint is equal to Tom’s slowing down to a near walk… nevertheless I was grateful for the invitation, and he took me on his ‘Castle’ run around Stafford (Movescount). We managed to run from the edge of the town centre to the Castle on the outskirts, and back again, without any road running at all. We came mighty close to the M6 with its thunderous noise, but for the most part stuck to the soft stuff. And soft it was, 5 miles or more of slippery, sticky, steep, ankle deep mud. Each time I looked up Tom had become a speck at the top of another hill, whilst I was just a third of the way up, four kilos of mud gathered on each foot. We reached the castle and I looked out over the Staffordshire plane… it dawned on me that I still had to get back to work and complete my day! At least it was downhill. By the time I hit the shower I was really pleased it was over… I can’t say I didn’t enjoy it, it was awesome, but perhaps next time I’ll save the route for a weekend when I can lie down in a darkened room afterwards and weep, quietly.

Janathon 2016 Stats
Total Miles = 125.25
Total KM = 201.57
Total Calories = 15054
Average KM Day = 6.95

Equivalents
Boots Meal Deal = 14.90
Greggs Steak & Cheese Roll = 44.37
Lazy Lunchtime Trip Total = 11.15
Days Worth Calories = 7.53
Journeys to Work = 9.63
10Ks = 20.16

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

