#Janathon Day 26: So Called Storm Thingy

As I was driving home today, Sally Traffic was full of tales of woe and destruction: Storm thingy that buried the East Coast of America under six feet of snow at the weekend was now dumping apocalyptic amounts of rain on the UK and blowing lorries over for good measure. My little car was being blown about on the M6 and when I got home, the wind tore the door from my hand and into the path of my grumpy neighbours Honda Jazz. I decided I needed to wrap up.

I hit the canal and within half a mile I was gasping… off came the Buff. Another half a mile later the gloves were off and my top un-zipped. In the shelter of the canal towpath it was calm, still, and decidedly warm. Storm thingy was suddenly nowhere to be seen. I was as baffled as the crocus appearing through the undergrowth and ran a sweaty and uncomfortable three miles (Movescount is down, AGAIN).

I know the storm is called ‘Jonas’, but the BBC snobbishly refuse to call it that. Yesterday they resorted to calling it “the so-called Storm Jonas” in apparent disdain that it had not been named by a British Institution. Today it was just “the storm” and apart from a few very silly lorry drivers ignoring high-wind warnings, a bit of an anti-climax at that! So much for the tales of terror and the media hype…  No bragging about having run through it for me, either!

Janathon 2016 Stats
Total Miles = 112.14
Total KM = 180.47
Total Calories = 13512
Average KM Day = 6.94

Equivalents
Boots Meal Deal = 13.38
Greggs Steak & Cheese Roll = 39.83
Lazy Lunchtime Trip Total = 10.01
Days Worth Calories = 6.76
Journeys to Work = 8.63
10Ks = 18.05

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

