#Janathon Day 3: A Run Down Memory Lane

A few weeks ago, a friend of mine asked if anyone wanted a free place to the Central Lanacashire Half Marathon. I had a quick look at the route: it was entirely rural and passed by my childhood home between mile 8 and 9. I hadn’t been there for 20 years, so leap’t at it… And so it was I found myself in Lea Town on a relatively mild, but wet and windy Sunday morning in vest and shorts. The route was mostly flat, however my fitness hasn’t been up to much lately, so I resolved to reign myself in and enjoy the ride. I started too near the front as I was gossiping with two club-mates who had also made the journey. As a result the starting hooter caught me off-guard and at 10 am we were off.

image1

The landscape was familiar, but in that wispy, minds-eye sort of way where much had changed but it was still recognisable. I started to enjoy spotting things I had forgotten over the years, and kept my head up. The route passed through several small hamlets (Blackleach, Catforth, Eaves) before reaching the village of Inskip. Recalling childhood bike-rides, I knew this was a long stretch, through Wharles and onto Treales Village where I grew up. It was here I started to natter (as I do) to a fellow runner and as we ran, we exchanged racing experiences and training tips. It kept our minds off the running! As and we approached my old house I was delighted to see how it had changed and mused nostalgically to my running buddy about climbing trees and hoarding conkers. I was very happy.

CLHM-End

Turning back towards the finish, we were head to wind and tired – the going was getting tough. The rain lashed down and stung the skin, the wind blew and the cold was starting to bite. The marshals were in a jovial mood however as they cheered us on. The route has been almost entirely devoid of support, so this was a welcome pick-me-up. About half a mile before the end, my right calf started to let me know it was unhappy and I was forced to run in a peg-leg fashion to ensure I made the finish. We crossed the finish line in under 2 hrs 10 minutes (Movescount) and considering my current fatness and relative lack of fitness, I was delighted.

Me and my running buddy thanked each-other… as social runners, having someone to share the pain with makes all the difference. I was frozen to the core and my skin stung to touch, but after locating Mrs Trenthamfolk and getting changed in the car (classy!) we made our way to the local pub (another old haunt of mine, The Derby Arms in Treales) for some quality food and a good old rest.

Nostalgia aside the Central Lancashire Half Marathon was a well organised, flatish and friendly event on quiet county lanes. As a January rude awakening it has done the trick. There is clearly much work to do.

Janathon 2016 Stats
Total Miles = 19.39
Total KM = 31.21
Total Calories = 2433
Average KM Day = 10.40

Equivalents
Greggs Steak & Cheese Roll = 7.17
Bottles of Prosecco = 4.91
Cans of Monster Energy = 11.06
Days Worth Calories = 1.22
Journeys to Work = 1.49
10Ks = 3.12

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

