#Juneathon 2015: Day 9 – Canal Folk are Miserable

Now there’s a sweeping generalisation for you! Today I ran six enjoyable #Juneathon miles down the Trent & Mersey Canal (Movescount). As you may have gathered I spend a lot of time in this shared space. I frequently see dog walkers, cyclists, other runners and people on barges… I make a point of saying ‘Hi’, smiling at people, thanking them when they move aside, woofing at their dogs and generally being polite. Almost all reciprocate, apart from a large majority of canal folk on their Barges who usually ignore me, or look at me like something that’s just dropped out of a dog’s bottom.

Canal People, Yesterday...

Canal People, Yesterday…

I used to be a part of a boating community and was an unwitting member of their curious clique hierarchy. I had no time for all that nonsense, and once enlightened, gave up sailing and took up running instead. Running is a lot cheaper to start with, there are no flags to learn, seasonality is not an issue, you don’t have join a club to use the roads, it’s extra difficult to drown, there is no licence to pay before venturing out and it is the most supportive pastime I have ever been involved in. I’ve said to before and I’ll say it again, everyone should do it, even the miserable canal folk.

Juneathon 2015 Stats
Total Miles = 48.65
Total KM = 78.29
Total Calories = 6342
Average KM Day = 8.70

Equivalents
Subway Mega Melts = 12.27
Bottles of Thatchers Katy = 28.57
Days Worth Calories = 3.17
Journeys to Work = 3.74
10Ks = 7.83

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Juneathon 2015: Day 9 – Canal Folk are Miserable

  1. winsometahn says:

    Ha! People are friendly where you are – I say hello to people too & hardly anyone responds 😔

Leave a Reply

