#Juneathon 2015: Day 7 – AAA Batteries and Hangovers

I woke up this morning several times. On each occasion, I felt a tiny, tiny little bit less terrible, turned over and slumbered on, a foggy subhuman mess. Most of us have been there, the morning after, wondering why the common sense mechanism didn’t kick in after drink number (insert random figure here) and totally baffled about the chain of events that resulted in the state we find ourselves in. On the 16th wake-up I made my way downstairs, put on yesterday’s F1 qualifying, and started to piece together the previous evening’s events.

I recall retiring to the inside of the Old Brown Jug once the sun dipped behind the beer garden walls. I recall standing next to the bar talking running and beer, the raffle host’s brother winning first prize in a fix that would put FIFA to shame, cheering a very talented musician who looked like Frodo Baggins and making the inspired switch to scrumpy cider to avoid a hangover… However this morning I am completely surrounded by no money, have a LOT curry on my trousers and found a AAA Battery in my pocket which I apparently won on the raffle. Safe to say, it was a brilliant night.

IMG_7231

Two Drinkers, Yesterday…

Once I had regained control of my legs I hit the canal towpath and knocked out a quick 3.8 #Juneathon miles (Movescount) making it 40 miles for the week. It was hot and windy out there but the more I ran the better I felt… I said ‘Hi’ to the Potters Trotters out marathon training and as I dodged the odd bicycle, the blood was pumping vigorously through my veins. I was starting to feel human once more. Today’s run taught me three things: 1) I never learn, 2) I am not 19 years old anymore, and 3) it’s difficult to feel sorry for yourself after a good run. Hurrah!

Juneathon 2015 Stats
Total Miles = 40.05
Total KM = 64.45
Total Calories = 5222
Average KM Day = 9.21

Equivalents
Subway Mega Melts = 10.10
Bottles of Thatchers Katy = 23.52
Days Worth Calories = 2.61
Journeys to Work = 3.08
10Ks = 6.45

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

