#Juneathon 2015: Day 4 – Sweaty Summer Run

Tonight was club run. Following yesterday’s efforts, I was debating whether to join in or not, when Crazy Walt (our illustrious leader) made an appeal on facebook for a deputy. I bit the bullet and stated that would be there and was happy to lead. Decision made.

At 6pm the car said it was 23 degrees, so I turned up at club with my aqua-pack on my back. In the heat I like to run with water, but running with a bottle strapped to my waist is (quite literally) a pain in the arse. I endured the jibes from my club mates like “are you running an ultra?” and “is it full of beer?”… Having suffered from cramps in the recent past I was taking no chances on the warmest day of the year to date.

Me, Sweating...

Me, Sweating…

Tonight’s route was a lovely multi-terrain loop that took us and over the ridge at the top of the Trentham Estate, a climb of 633 ft (Movescount). At the top I was very glad I had my watery friend sloshing about on my back, and as I hydrated myself my club mates look on enviously. My tired #Juneathon legs were complaining a little, but the mix of green, leafy country lanes, ploughed fields, grassy embankments and canal towpaths more than made up for the grumbling.

By the time we made it back to club, 7 and a bit miles later, we were all dripping from head to toe, but we had put the effort in and were happy. Over the course I had consumed a litre of fluid, and crucially there were no cramps… a successful run all round!

Juneathon 2015 Stats
Total Miles = 29.37
Total KM = 47.27
Total Calories = 3838
Average KM Day = 11.82

Equivalents
Subway Mega Melts = 7.42
Bottles of Thatchers Katy = 17.29
Days Worth Calories = 1.92
Journeys to Work = 2.26
10Ks = 4.73

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Juneathon 2015: Day 4 – Sweaty Summer Run

  1. Sam says:

    Result! good run and no cramps is a win win all round.

Leave a Reply

