#Juneathon Day 11: Shugborough Relays

Today my #Juneathon duties were confined to the Shuborough Relays organised by our friends and arch rivals, the Stafford Harriers. The relays are a wonderful running event where elites, club runners, kids and fancy dress all set off at once and share the same multi-terrain two-mile course. Afterwards, there are BBQs, cakes, burgers and lots of well done’s from all involved. It is well organised and tonight was a huge success. Thanks therefore go the the Harriers and the Shugborough Estate.

IMG_4712

So, how did it go? Well, I got there early and had a quick chat with the lovely Trina who was parking cars, then had had a ‘visit’ to the woods before jogging the course as a warm-up. I retrieved my number and found out that I was first man up! Nightmare… through the woods it would be single file, so I knew I had to get a position that was befitting my fitness so that a) I didn’t get held up and b) didn’t get in anyone’s way unnecessarily. Besides being overtaken in the woods by an entire school of 8-year old’s I finished in about 15 minutes, and my team came in under the hour.

IMG_4747

The Green Army had about 15 teams out today and our elites were a formidable presence. However our juniors also excelled, and Trenthamfolk Junior gave a stellar performance in the final straight blasting a runner about five-times his age over the line! Tonight I am one very proud Dad. I have only added about 6K to my total, but for today that will do. It’s been a long one and I find the short no-let-up type of running exhausting. Long distance is definitely my game, but events like these are special. I’d be a fool to miss out.

Juneathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 60.97
Total KM = 98.12
Total Calories = 7533
Average KM Day = 8.92

Equivalents
I’m Too Busy Lunches = 5.38
Bottles of Sailor Jerry’s = 4.28
Days Worth Calories = 3.77
Journeys to Work = 4.39
10Ks = 9.81

 

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

