#Juneathon 2014 Day 5: Public Speaking Race Nerves

Both yesterday and today I had to stand up at the front of a room full of people and talk about ‘stuff’. I’m fairly accustomed to public speaking, but no matter how much I do it I always get a dry mouth, a rush of adrenaline beforehand and feel ever so slightly knackered on the come down. The experience is not dissimilar from race day. The nerves for no apparent reason, the wringing of hands at the start, the joy when you realise you’re performing well and the elation when you finish and everyone says ‘well done’. Today I flopped about three thirty, so headed home at 4 (I enjoy the luxury of flexi-time).

I hit the road in a surprise burst of sunshine. I didn’t want to go, but had to squeeze it in between work and some sports massage on my old-man back. It was warm and every kilometer felt like 2 miles. I saw my mate Greggle’s out and about (don’t mention the war) who was heading out as I was wrapping my run up. I eventually bashed out a slow but steady 10.5kM or so. I’m now enjoying a pint and feeling all floppy after being pummeled by Daniel at Cole’s Sports Therapy…. The man has magic hands and Cole’s comes highly recommended. Ask anyone at Trentham Running Club!

Juneathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 33.79
Total KM = 54.38
Total Calories = 4177
Average KM Day = 10.88

Equivalents
I’m Too Busy Lunches = 2.98
Bottles of Sailor Jerry’s = 2.37
Days Worth Calories = 2.09
Journeys to Work = 2.43
10Ks = 5.44

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

