#Juneathon 2014 Day 1: Where The Hell Did That Come From?

It’s #Juneathon time again… time to focus on my training and trim up for the summer. I’ve been for a run and plonked myself in front of my computer to realise that I never wrote a London Marathon blog. I tried, but I found if difficult to find the right words. The 2014 VLM was a much bigger spectacle that I expected, but was somehow more personal than anything I’d run before. Think friendly race times a million. It went better than I expected and as well as I had dared to hope. I ran 4:18 (a 17 minute PB) and more importantly enjoyed every single moment. Everyone should do it.

Now, I acknowledge that I’ve just done what I said I couldn’t do, but every success has it’s down side… the downside is usually me. I have been off the wagon… munching here, slurping there, not running much and getting decidedly podgy… I have been convincing myself that I have been too busy to run and to stressed to eat healthily. This is moronic rhetoric (as I’m sure you’ll agree) and a fine example of me not always practicing what I preach. So today I welcomed Juneathon with open arms… Eventually.

I woke up this morning in a hotel room in Manchester, having spent a brilliant Saturday enjoying great food, tasty artisan beers and even greater music (courtesy of Dawn Landes, David Saw and Little Rach). True to form I got carried away on meeting these amazing musicians so went about feeding the resulting hangover this morning with a posh hotel buffet breakfast – Wahey!!! Full English, blueberry muffins, pastries, cured meats, olives and a token strawberry. Don’t mind if I do. Having ambled around the local art gallery we had a snack for lunch in Pizza Express… snack = full pizza… and landed back in Trentham in time for supper.

First I had to run and to be honest it wasn’t great. It was warm and humid and my tummy was juggling about like someone had duct-taped a football to it. I overheated very quickly and was soon gasping for breath. This from the man that ran 26.2 and barely broke sweat. You reap what you sow I guess, so resolved on-route to make myself suffer. I ran 6.41 miles down the canal, got attacked by swans protecting their signets and arrived back looking like an extra hot pepperami! Still, it has begun… Please watch this space… there will be more comedy photo’s to follow!

photoddJuneathon 2014 Stats

Total Miles = 6.41
Total KM = 10.3
Total Calories = 788
Average KM Day = 10.3

Equivalents
I’m Too Busy Lunches = 0.6
Bottles of Sailor Jerry’s = 0.4
Days Worth Calories = 0.4
Journeys to Work = 0.5

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Juneathon 2014 Day 1: Where The Hell Did That Come From?

  1. Comedy photos!? Coolio!

Leave a Reply

