#Janathon Day 31: Another Number for Another Year

There we have it, #Janathon 2014 is complete… it’s been a blast, I’ve enjoyed every run, but it’s been hard work this mind-over-matter business. I’m ready for a good rest and a glass bottle of red. #DryJanuary, on the other hand, has been a relative breeze. All I had to do was not do something and it’s been a valuable learning experience. Despite the tiredness, by combining these two January-based challenges I have discovered a new quality of sleep I had forgotten existed, feel physically great, have saved a small wad of cash and dropped half a stone! So, for the record, here are my #Janathon stats:

Total Miles = 191.9
Total KM = 308.8
Total Calories = 23701
Average Per Day = 6.2

Equivalent to…
Greggs Steak Bakes = 48.4
Bottles of Jim Beam = 15.2
Days Worth Calories = 11.9
Journeys to Work = 13.8

This is the furthest distance I’ve ever run in a month, and the longest I’ve been without an alcoholic drink for about a decade… crucially, of the 31 days I’ve been Janathoning, I’ve burnt off twelve days worth of calories! Madness…

This morning I was required to address a room full of people for half an hour and talk about statistics. Needless to say, by lunchtime I was ready for a good blast, so hit the road with my lovely workmates. The weather was vile: blustery with lashing wintry rain. No sooner had I started than I realised my legs (despite feeling great after last night’s sports massage) were not really up to much. Nevertheless we ran 4.8 miles (Runkeeper) and I was satisfied with this final effort.

My next challenge is the London Marathon in April, so over the next 2 months I need to allow adequate recovery time in-between runs and extend my distances considerably… training proper is upon me, no more of this crazy #Janathon business! Thank you all for reading my blogs, I hope you’ve all enjoyed your new year as much as me. 2014… Ready, set… GO!

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Janathon Day 31: Another Number for Another Year

  1. I’ve really enjoyed your Janathon blogs. Hope you’re going to blog a little about your Marathon training too. Good Luck

Leave a Reply

