#Janathon Day 25: Half Price Half Marathon

Well, I didn’t win any awards at the awards night last night, but I did win a bottle of whiskey in the raffle! It’s a good job I’m on #DryJanuary else today might have been rather different, for today was the day that entries for the Potters ‘Arf Marathon went on sale. One of the toughest road-based half marathon routes in the nation, it’s not for the feint hearted. As per tradition, the first 100 entries are half price and available exclusively in person at the local shopping center. There was carnival atmosphere that surrounded the 2013 race and I wanted more. I therefore got up early, safe in the knowledge that last year they did not sell them all on the day, and made my way up to town for 9am sharp.

I expected to get in and out in a flash, but was instead met by the sight of an excited queue of about 30 people (including many Trentham RC friends) already in the process of buying entries. And the people kept on coming… as I got to the desk, there were at least another 30 behind me! Such was the rush that my mate Phil (of the Helsby Half Marathon blog) secured the 100th half price entry at round 10am… Blimey! Running, it would appear, is making a comeback. That makes me feel really good, and less like some kind of abnormal health-freak, so it was with a sense of righteousness that I did my #Janathon run today. I waited for the thunder and hail to pass before bobbing out for a quick 3.5 (Runkeeper) miles. I trotted round, barely broke sweat, then got on with building wardrobes. It’s been a good day.

P.S. Next year there will almost certainly be a FULL POTTERS MARATHON once again… see Facebook HERE and join the movement!

Enter the Potters ‘Arf on Runners World HERE

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 147.63
Total KM = 237.59
Total Calories = 18,224
Average Per Day = 5.91

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 37.2
Bottles of Jim Beam = 11.7
Days Worth Calories = 9.1
Journeys to Work = 10.62

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Janathon Day 25: Half Price Half Marathon

  1. Sarah Passey says:

    What a great way to publicise a half marathon! Well done on getting a place 🙂

  2. Lots of slightly crazy people up early!

Leave a Reply

