#Janathon Day 21: A Little Less Over Training, A Little More Sleeping

Ray LeBlond said “you learn something new every day if you pay attention”… and through embracing life as a continuous learning experience, I learnt not one, but two new things today. Firstly, I learnt that “Miami 2017 (Seen the Lights Go Out on Broadway)” is a Billy Joel song… Since I first heard Richard Marx sing it on ‘Paid Vacation‘ way back in the 90’s, and from that point on, I thought the song was his… little did I know that it was a cover, and I’m ashamed to admit that I was hoodwinked into this false belief all these years. Sorry Billy, hat tip in your direction.

Secondly, I learnt that the biggest sign of over-training is not irritability, restlessness, disturbed sleep, short temper, aching limbs or worn-out trainers… it’s being knackered. Journalists compile ‘top ten’ lists of things to watch out for, the telltale signs that you’re pushing yourself a little to far… but these are all symptoms. Sometimes it helps to cut to the chase and admit that you’re a bit shagged out.

Tonight was Tuesday club run with Walter. It was mostly flat, with a hilly bit in the middle (Runkeeper) and after half a mile I knew I was in for a rough ride. My brain was telling me I could do it (as ever) and was sending the signals to my legs, but the get-up-and-go simply wasn’t there. I struggled along at the back of the group, trying to muster the required energy from somewhere, and finished the 7.4 mile route in an average pace of 10:20 min miles. The #Janathon tiredness has hit home, and I need to sleep. Night all…

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 130.32
Total KM = 209.73
Total Calories = 16,055
Average Per Day = 6.21

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 32.8
Bottles of Jim Beam = 10.3
Days Worth Calories = 8.0
Journeys to Work = 9.38

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

