#Janathon Day 19: The Essar Four Villages (Helsby) Half Marathon

Today I got up early, had a hearty breakfast and made my way to Helsby in darkest Cheshire for my first race of the season: The Essar four villages half marathon. I collected my running bud Phil on-route, and we arrived in plenty of time for the start. I had signed up for this race on the recommendation of my Chester Marathon savoir, Lou, and it was indeed popular… I was glad I’d signed up when I did. I spotted Lou and her plodders before the start. We said Hi and I bombed a few of her pictures… it really was great to see her again.

Although this was a race, discipline was the name of the game today. Armed with my trusty Tom Tom watch, I kept a close eye on my pace. I didn’t want to run as fast as I knew I could, as I would have to pay later (not good for #Janathon) and I need to temper my pace for London if I’m to survive the marathon distance. Me and Phil chatted as we ran and managed to keep the pace above nine minute miles… The route was fabulous, very pretty, a few good hills and lot’s of rousing support from the locals. Despite much of the course being open, there was almost no traffic, and we were blessed with the weather… Cool air, warm sunshine… Lovely.

We're in there somewhere!

We’re in there somewhere!

Somehow were were overtaken by Loopy Lou twice (I presume we were lapped) we had a good natter with her and her running buddies as she ran backwards (!) taking photo’s (!) before sprinting off. We hadn’t really noticed, but the course had climbed gently for a good few miles before braking into a lovely long downhill stretch somewhere around mile 11. At this point we were catching some walkers, and overtaking a few folk and were feeling good. We rested on the downhill, and made for a blast towards the finish back in Helsby. We pipped the clock in an official time of just under two hours (Runkeeper). No where near a PB, but on #Janathon legs, I can’t complain.

It’s been a great day. Catching up with friends, doing a long run with fine company, wearing my club colors with pride and running a new race in pleasant surroundings… even queuing for an hour to get our bags didn’t dampen the spirits. Time for a well deserved supper…

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 119.83
Total KM = 192.85
Total Calories = 14,723
Average Per Day = 6.31

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 30.0
Bottles of Jim Beam = 9.5
Days Worth Calories = 7.4
Journeys to Work = 8.62

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Janathon Day 19: The Essar Four Villages (Helsby) Half Marathon

  1. Running backwards and taking photos! Blimey!

  2. runtezza says:

    Sounds like a great event — fab photo as well. Congratulations and keep it up!

Leave a Reply

