#Janathon Day 18: Blown Away In Blackpool

Today I had a change of scenery… Having belted it up to Lancashire last night to see my folks new pad in Lytham St Anne’s, we crashed at a nearby Travelodge in the great summertime retreat of Blackpool. I had a surprisingly good night’s kip, considering the various Hen Parties that appeared to be based in the corridor outside our room. We awoke to miserable grey cloud cover and heavy, soul sapping rain. There was therefore nothing for it… I was at the seaside, I had to see the sea. I packed the wife and child into the car and set about running the four miles that lay between me and a cooked breakfast and freshly brewed coffee.

Bleakness!

Bleakness!

Blackpool was deserted at that time of day and the streets lined with guesthouses looked bleak as I weaved towards the prom. The wind was a gusty south westerly, but thankfully the rain has stopped. Having spent many years in that neck of the woods, it’s always good to be back, no mater how briefly or bad the weather, so I buried my head to wind and made haste (Runkeeper). From the promenade I had a constant view of the ocean and being by the sea always makes me feel happy and alive. However today I saw just four other runners, a single dog walker, and a lady carrying a kettle bell… and that was it, from South Shore to St Anne’s… I’d #Janathon there every day of I could!

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 106.73
Total KM = 171.77
Total Calories = 13,086
Average Per Day = 5.93

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 26.7
Bottles of Jim Beam = 8.4
Days Worth Calories = 6.5
Journeys to Work = 7.68

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Janathon Day 18: Blown Away In Blackpool

  1. A run by the sea! How lovely. Shame the sun wasn’t out for it

Leave a Reply

