#Janathon Day 16: Half Way And Dry

Two weeks… I can’t remember the last time I went for two weeks without an alcoholic drink… booze is my Achilles Heel: food I can manage (more or less) but the lure of deliciously fermented vegetable drinks always sucks me in. So, what has it done for me so far, this not-drinking #DryJanuary lark?

1) The quality of my sleep is a lot better. I’m still getting up in the night to have a whiz, but I’m falling to sleep quicker, dreaming more, and not sleeping in awkward positions that make for an uncomfortable night.

2) I’m richer… not ‘rich’ by any means, but booze is expensive and the disposable income I would have spent at the Co-Op is now sat in my pocket. I’m slugging back gallons of diet pop every night, but at £2 for four, two liter bottles, it’s hardly breaking the bank.

3) My complexion is a lot, lot better. I always get spots, and ingrowing hairs in my beard, but they seem to have vanished… generally I don’t think people notice, but I do, and that’s important.

4) I’m loosing weight. Yep, that chunky stuff I piled on through a combination of festive excess and unabashed greed has all but vanished. I’m happily back to my 11 stone 7 lb target weight, and feel great for it.

Add to this that fact that I wake up without a muzzy head, don’t have to worry about driving ‘the morning after’, can be bothered to do the ironing and other ‘stuff’ and aren’t even thinking about alcohol all that much, and it’s starting to look like the first steps towards a change in lifestyle. I won’t abandon the booze for good (where’s the fun in that?) but I’m starting to realise that I don’t need it, and that old habits don’t have to die hard. All you need is a little motivation. #Janathon is perfect for that.

So, to tonight’s run. Walter appears to have been on a coaching course, and was making us do sprints. I therefore hate him, and may have to mutiny if he tries ‘training’ us to run fast again. The cheek. 6.8 miles tonight (Runkeeper) and I’m celebrating with a glass of ginger beer. Cheers!

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 98.00 on the dot
Total KM = 157.72
Total Calories = 12,032
Average Per Day = 6.13

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 24.6
Bottles of Jim Beam = 7.7
Days Worth Calories = 6.0
Journeys to Work = 7.05

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #Janathon Day 16: Half Way And Dry

  1. runtezza says:

    Well done you! Must give #DryJanuary a try (…but clearly too late for this year)

  2. Sam says:

    Great work on your Janathon & staying dry!

  3. Glad Dry Janaury is working out for you. I have a colleague doing it and she is struggling

Leave a Reply

