#Janathon Day 13: Retaining Sanity

I was climbing the walls and feeling like a caged animal by the time I hit the road for today’s #Janathon effort. I had to call into the office after Junior decided to empty the contents of his stomach onto the dining room floor. In such circumstances he is banned from the classroom for a set period, and it was my turn to be on on kid duty. It has been a beautiful morning, but as we watched the ‘Back To The Future’ trilogy, the rain started to beat against the windows. When Mrs Trenthamfolk arrived home to relieve me, it was decidedly damp. Queue insane running!

Despite the wintry rain, there were loads of runners out and about on-route tonight (Runkeeper). In a narrow part of the path, I stood aside to allow another runner to pass from the opposite direction. “We must be mad” she called as she whizzed past… we both knew it. John J. Kelly said that “Marathoning is just another form of insanity”, but I’d go one further… It’s a madness that drives us froward, causes us untold pain, awakens our higher nature, binds our community and ultimately, keeps us sane… and I can’t imagine getting through my day without it.

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 80.49
Total KM = 129.54
Total Calories = 9,871
Average Per Day = 6.19

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 20.1
Bottles of Jim Beam = 6.3
Days Worth Calories = 4.9
Journeys to Work = 5.79

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Janathon Day 13: Retaining Sanity

  1. Sam says:

    I usually think I was closer to madness when I spent those rainy nights on the sofa. I have never felt more sane since I developed an appreciation of running in the rain!

Leave a Reply

