#Janathon Day 11: Dawn Run to Stafford

This morning the alarm went off at 6:00 and (unlike a school day) I pinged my eyes open… I was ready for #Janathon day 11 and was raring to go. I slid out of bed so not to disturb the incredible hulk wife next to me, and went downstairs for coffee and beans on toast. I had arranged to meet my running wife, Em’s, at 7:30 on the canal and I needed time for breakfast to go down. I hate running on an empty stomach. Showered, caffeinated and appropriately clad in running gear, I left the warm of the house and dipped into the damp but pleasantly mild morning and made for Stafford.

I needed to be in town for ten, so had left myself two and a half hours for this longish run. It was still dark, but the dawn was just about to break. As we hit Barlaston village we saw some runners coming from the opposite direction. They welcomed us with “more crazy people!”… well, it’s nice to part of a community! We were almost in Stone when Em’s turned back towards Trentham. She had ‘marital wife’ duties to attend to, so from that point on I was on my own, but had been glad of the company until then. I was making my way through the center of Stone past market traders setting up and old men buying papers, when the heavens opened. I got soaked, but at the seven mile point, it was quite refreshing.

Yarlet Bank at Dawn

Next came the long slog along the A34 towards Stafford. The road is a 60 mph duel carriageway and there was a lot of spray from the vehicles as they thundered past. I drive along this piece of road every day, but hadn’t really noticed how long and featureless it was. It feels considerably further on foot. At the top of Yarlett Bank I paused to take a picture: the sunrise over the misty fields looked stunning. By this point my legs were tired (they’re letting me know I’m using them every day) but I knew it was now downhill and flat towards my destination and a hot brew. I rolled into town, a little bit shagged out, but happy… the run had taken me about 2 hrs and 17 mins, including stops to stretch, text, photograph, and cross busy roads.

I had been apprehensive about doing this 13.5 mile run for some reason. Perhaps it was the fact that I was running towards a destination and couldn’t just cut it short and return home? Who knows, but I needn’t have worried. I am more than capable of knocking out a half marathon before ten o’clock… It’s the staying awake for the rest of the day that’s going to be tricky!

P.S. I accidentally stopped my watch at 4.35 miles, so my route is in two parts (Runkeeper) if anyone is interested!

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 69.88
Total KM = 112.46
Total Calories = 8,557
Average Per Day = 6.35

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 17.5
Bottles of Jim Beam = 5.5
Days Worth Calories = 4.3
Journeys to Work = 5.03

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #Janathon Day 11: Dawn Run to Stafford

  1. A Half Marathon by 10am ain’t half bad! Well done you

Leave a Reply

