#Janathon Day 6: A Surprise Reward

Today, after a quick 1.5 mile warm-up by myself, I ran with my work based running club, the County Council Runners. This feisty bunch joined me last year as beginners, and they’re all coming on a pace. Tonight we ran 4 and a half #Janathon miles or so around the streets of Stafford (Runkeeper), through puddles and wintry rain and gossiped as we ran. Several of them have entered themselves into the Stafford Half Marathon later this year (no mean feat for a beginner) and others are talking about 10K’s and their next challenge… I am so proud of them, and that is all the reward I need. However, arriving home, a little surprise was waiting for me on twitter.

Knot FM

Knot FM

A local community radio station, Knot FM based in the heart of Stoke-on-Trent, have been keeping tabs on my blog and have awarded me (yes, me!) their first Community Recognition Award. These are, in their words “very special recognition awards… to celebrate the special people who make Stoke-on-Trent a great place to live”.

I’m almost embarrassed: I just do what I do, and try to make a difference in whatever that is. I’m absolutely made up, and want to tell the world, but for now, you’ll have to do. Thank you Knot FM… you’ve used a gawd awful picture of me, ready to die at the Shugborough Relays last year, and made a little chap from Trentham very happy.

Tomorrow, the normal idle musings will resume, I promise…

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 34.50
Total KM = 55.52
Total Calories = 4,286

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 8.7
Bottles of Jim Beam = 2.8
Days Worth Calories = 2.1
Journeys to Work = 2.48

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to #Janathon Day 6: A Surprise Reward

  1. shazruns says:

    That’s fabulous you are obviously inspiring and encouraging others to run and that’s amazing. Recognition well deserved!

  2. stokiecat says:

    Congrats Dan, well deserved 🙂

  3. Woohoo Congratulations!

  4. That is awesome, congratulations! 🙂

Leave a Reply

