#Janathon Day 1 – The Fightback Begins

In danger of sounding Bah Humbug, I want to state here and know that I love Christmas and New Year. It’s a great time to cuddle up in the warmth with the family, and a handy excuse to ignore my better instincts and revel in some unabashed consumerism and gluttony. But, when all is said and done, I consistently look back on these festivities and realise a) I can’t remember half of it, and b) I feel so guilty about eating all that cheese. Well it stops now: in this long standing battle with me, myself and my belly, #Janathon 2014 is my weapon of choice. 

At 3:30pm this afternoon I was in bed… the day had not been going well. I was nursing a hangover from some epic (and frankly, idiotic) new-year’s eve drinking with my brother. I had eaten beef chilli with cheese and crumpets for breakfast (don’t ask) and downed a bottle of high caffeine energy drink which was keeping me awake. My head was in a vice, it was going dark outside and the rain was lashing against the window. Three months ago I ran a marathon, but there I was, on January the 1st, debating whether to go for a little run or to embrace abject failure… How ridiculous!

Too Much Food!

Too Much Food!

There could only be one winner, so hauled my lardy arse out of bed, whipped on some running gear, and stepped out into the darkness and the wet. I decided to run around my estate in a loop just short of a mile, so I would never me more than a couple of minutes from home. By the time I was half a mile in, I knew victory was mine! There and then, the fightback began. Today I ran 3.2 miles in 28 minutes (Runkeeper) and now I feel amazing. I’ve said many times that you’re only ever one run away from a good mood, and today I proved my point.

I have revised my calorie counting measures for Janathon 2014 to reflect my current vices… As they are particularly relevant to me, and daily blogging should keep me focussed… well, that’s the plan! 2014, bring it on!

Janathon 2014 Stats
Total Miles = 3.20
Total KM = 5.15
Total Calories = 388

Equivalents
Greggs Steak Bakes = 0.8
Bottles of Jim Beam = 0.2
Days Worth Calories = 0.2
Journeys to Work = 0.23

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to #Janathon Day 1 – The Fightback Begins

  1. Well done for getting out there in the horrid weather. This has to be one of the wettest starts to Janathon!

  2. fitfor365 says:

    Good luck with Janathon!

  3. Kim says:

    Ha ha, loved this post! Well done! I’m a Janathon newbie, but full of good intentions. (After today that is.) Look forward to reading your next post. Mine’s here: http://www.impactonline.co.uk/category/janathon/

  4. Well done you! It would seem that most Janathon blogs today include the words ‘wet’ and ‘windy’ at some point!

  5. Well done, I look forward to watching those steak bakes tot up over the month!

Leave a Reply

