#Juneathon Day 24 – The Ultimate Hangover Cure?

This morning it felt like someone had cracked my head open, filled it needles and chilli sauce, shaken it about then used a staple gun to put it back together. Needless to say, I was a little worse for wear following yesterday’s BBQ celebrations.

I had spent the majority of the day – as expected – slaving over a hot BBQ using the up-and-over garage door as a rain shelter. It chucked it down persistently, but being the hardy Brits we are, we weren’t going to let a bit of the wet stuff ruin the day. We therefore carried on regardless, and whilst I kept up the supply of partially burnt burgers and sausages, Mrs Trenthamfolk dutifully ensured I was suitably hydrated… once the hoards had had their fill, the fizzy wine made an appearance.. Me & Prosecco just don’t mix, I knew this, and therefore should have known better.

Fortunately for everyone, I had foreseen this turn of events, and had booked the day off work. I walked Junior to school and the bought some energy drink, took some painkillers and went back to bed. Come lunch time, I had decided what I needed was a nice greasy KFC. It was OK, but it didn’t really do the trick… Junk food just doesn’t these days. My brain says I want it, but when I get it, It’s just not what it’s cracked up to be. My mind inevitably wandered towards hair-of-the-dog, but I knew I needed to #Juneathon at some point. At that stage, the thought of running filled me with dread.

Waiting at the Railway Crossing

Waiting at the Railway Crossing

The sun had come out by the time I left the house, and it was actually very pleasant. I ran very slowly (#Runkeeper), gingerly picking my way down the canal tow-path, trying my best to keep the gurgles at bay. I opted for my oldest route: A 10k that is mostly flat, and has lots of opportunity to cut short if necessity demands. As ever though, once I got going, the headache and nausea evaporated. Lot’s of people were out and about, most said ‘hi’ as I ambled past, and I got a friendly wave from my running buddy Meg. I completed the whole 10K at a reasonable pace (all things considered), and by the time I got back to Trentham, I felt much, much better.

Sitting at home watching Red Dwarf video’s on Youtube is all very well, but you can’t beat a good run to revitalise an abused nervous system. I also had the satisfaction of registering 140 miles for #Juneathon to date, and considering the pile of human wreckage I was this morning, I’m pretty damn please with that!

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 140.22
Total KM = 225.66
Total Calories = 17,024

Equivalents
Big Macs = 34.7
Pints of Strongbow = 70.9
Days Worth Calories = 8.5
Journeys to Work = 10.09

 

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

