#Juneathon Day 22 – Crying In The Pollen

…and this morning, I had to eat my words. I awoke at 4:30 am with a streaming nose and a ferocious sore throat. I think I’d been stirring for about an hour, you know that place between waking and sleeping, when you’re definitely not resting? Once I became aware, I forced myself up, boiled the kettle and had a Lemsip. About an hour later it had kicked in nicely and I crawled back into bed. What followed was the most blissful two hours sleep I’ve had in ages. The sheets were cool, the pillow like cloud 9, my nose was clear, bliss…

I know I am not alone when I say that this year has been an absolute killer for hay-fever sufferers… I don’t know if the pollen has mutated or something, but I’m sure the plants are trying to kill us. I haven’t let it interfere with #Junetahon, but it’s added another dimension to the challenge. It was slightly cooler this morning as I left the house but according to the Met Office, the pollen count was still high. I had forced myself out of my comfy bed at 7:30, knowing that if I didn’t run, it likely wouldn’t happen. It was also bright, so I wore my sunglasses… not only do they shade the sun, but the stop the pollen getting in (a bit) and stop me from rubbing my eyes.

Me half dead at Shugborough on Wed’s Night – No sunglasses, foolish!

Nevertheless, After a mile or so my eyes were streaming… I was literally crying… the tears were flowing like torrent of rain, and with it, gallons of sticky goo ran from my nose. It wasn’t a good look. Em’s will be glad she couldn’t make this morning, as the wind was strong and whilst running into the wind the result was quite revolting. You could probably re-trace my steps by following the ‘slug trail’ I left in my wake, but I urge you to use #Runkeeper. As I was on my own, it felt like a long run, but in fact it was just five and a half miles, and at 9 minute mile pace, not to ‘slug like’ after all.

I seriously hope there is a let up in the pollen count in the next few days, as it’s effecting Trenthafolk Junior too… poor lad think’s he has a cold… but until then, expect loads more snot and tales of red puffy eyes. Lovely!

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 130.73
Total KM = 210.39
Total Calories = 15,889

Equivalents
Big Macs = 32.4
Pints of Strongbow = 66.2
Days Worth Calories = 7.9
Journeys to Work = 9.41

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

