#Juneathon Day 21 – Just Run

Sometimes you just need to get out there and run. It had been a long but productive day at work, but I was not really in the mood. I’m not always, contrary to popular belief, and often have to force my self to leave the house… I’m a bad disciplinarian too, especially when It’s myself I’m arguing with. My internal dialogue has this surreal debate without me being consciously involved, but when it comes down to it, my rational ‘thinking’ brain has to override the instinct to sit down and read VW T5 Magazine, and to don the pumps instead.

So there I was on a sunny Friday afternoon, medically in need of a pint, looking like a man who’s just had is car stolen… lost, confused and abandoned on the streets of the city… Well, it wasn’t quite that bad. As I set off, I had a think about what #Junethon was all about. I realised that I was making it about distance and pace, but it isn’t a race. It is about doing something, and by making it half a mile down the lane I have achieved that already. Anything else was a bonus. So I settled into a casual pace, and set about enjoying the ride.

Father & Son, Blowin' in the wind

Father & Son, Blowin’ in the wind

I have got to the stage where my legs just seem to take me, and when I’m relaxed I don’t need to think about what they’re doing, I just run. My mind was with my working day… and the VW Surf Bus I want to buy, the BBQ washout my Mum’s 60th Birthday party is set to be on Sunday… Some scum’s (that’s a technical term) almost spoilt it when they called me a faggot out of the window of their borderline MOT Fiat Cinquecento (I don’t know, perhaps they’re insecure?) but my friend Laura peeping her horn and waving moments later more than made up for that. I ended up running 4.36 miles (#Runkeeper), and I really enjoyed it.

As I’ve said many times over the years, you’re only ever one run away from a good mood. Tonight I proved myself right!

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 125.14
Total KM = 201.39
Total Calories = 15,221

Equivalents
Big Macs = 31.1
Pints of Strongbow = 63.4
Days Worth Calories = 7.6
Journeys to Work = 9.00

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #Juneathon Day 21 – Just Run

  1. jensruns2011 says:

    Great post and stats, love the ‘Equivalents’ bit! 🙂

Leave a Reply

