#Juneathon Day 18 – Hot but not at all bothered

There was a curious look to the sky as I set out to club tonight. Crazy Walt is off on his holidays, so leader duties are to be shared between Me, Greggles and ‘not another photo’ Ken (Ken doesn’t like having his picture taken). The heavens were dark grey, and the bird life was going mental. The atmosphere was also close… and in the 22 degree heat there was a hint of something ominous in the air.

I got to club and started to rally the troops, but little did I know that a bunch of the fast paced troop had decided to join us and ‘take it easy’ in advance of the Shugborough Relays tomorrow night. It had started to sprinkle with rain and the mugginess made it sticky. We had opted for a hilly but rewarding run to visit the monument to the Duke of Sutherland that overlooks the Trentham estate. We set off along the canal, and with about 20 of us, we were quite a presence.

It was a tough #Juneathon run, but we made it back in one piece. The fast lot abandoned us at the top of the monument hill, and a couple of the crew took a shorter route back after the last killer climb had been conquered, but most stuck at it and we finished in good time (#Runkeeper). What followed was my first club committee meeting (what have I got myself into) then fixing my neighbours computer.

Additionally, I was standby for the relays, and as there has been a deserter already, I am up. Hence I have had to put my club vest and shorts (which were sodden after tonight’s efforts) in the washer and must wait up until they’re done…  such are the perils of running. Another late night. Wish me luck for tomorrow – it’s only a 2 mile leg, but I hope to make 7 minute miles or there about, which will require serious effort! I’ll keep you posted…

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 108.99
Total KM = 175.40
Total Calories = 13,301

Equivalents
Big Macs = 27.1
Pints of Strongbow = 55.4
Days Worth Calories = 6.7
Journeys to Work = 7.84

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

