#Juneathon Day 16 – No Short Cuts

Last night I got a text – admittedly I didn’t get it until this morning, as it was sent at a quarter to midnight. Em’s enthusiasm was surfing a wave of Merlot… “let’s go for a ten mile run tomorrow evening!” she suggested, knowing that I would be #Juneathoning at some point. I had just woken up, having been allowed a lie in (Thank you Mrs Trenthamfolk) and my mind was fuzzy. Why not, I thought… I’ll get some serious miles in. I replied with a thumbs up, and was then ambushed my my son.

Come this afternoon, after very enjoyable respective father’s days, both our enthusiasm had waned. We therefore opted for a curtailed run of just over 6 miles (#Runkeeper). It was warmer than we had expected, but it was an enjoyable outing none-the-less. I realised that despite my earlier enthusiasm, my journey is a long one, and the extra miles wouldn’t get me to my destination (insert some stuff here about a life well lived, or other philosophical bollocks) any quicker.

The Avenue at Wedgewood

The Avenue at Wedgewood

In the words of the immortal Paul Simon, “I don’t know where I’m going, but I’m on my way”, and the extra miles wouldn’t serve as a short cut to wherever that destination may be. Besides, there are no short cuts to any place worth going (Beverley Sills). 

I shamelessly stole that quote off @Running_Junkie today. If you don’t follow them, you should!

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 96.41
Total KM = 155.16
Total Calories = 11,780

Equivalents
Big Macs = 24.0
Pints of Strongbow = 49.1
Days Worth Calories = 5.9
Journeys to Work = 6.94

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

