#Juneathon Day 12 – And the Rains Came

Well, the weather had to break at some point, and today has been a wet one. Not that I mind the rain. It’s kind of liberating to be able to run about, fully clothed, sploshing through puddles, and people not thinking you’re insane. Unless you’re a child, and I can’t think of many scenario’s where other pedestrians wouldn’t give it a second glance. Today I took in an old route I used to run regularly (when I was younger and fatter) and took with it, a trip down memory lane.

My lad is eight years old tomorrow. I can hardly believe it, and I know it’s a cliché, but he’s growing up so fast. I started running when Mrs Trenthamfolk was pregnant with the little fella, and I knew I didn’t want to be a fat dad, so started at Slimming World, and took up running as a pursuit. By the time he was born, I was several stone lighter, and a damn sight healthier. Whilst I’ve had the odd wobble (quite literally!) over the last eight years, I am still fit and relatively thin… Phew!

Running past our old house, I was suddenly transported back to a previous time in our lives, when all was exciting and new and we were starting life as a family… for a moment, I almost regretted it’s passing, but then I remembered where we are today… First of all I don’t have to haul all that extra ‘me’ around. Secondly, we don’t feel the need to sleep at our desks, due to feeding at 3am. And thirdly, we have the most wonderful son, who is affectionate and kind, and tells us he loves us every day, despite his age. We’re very lucky.

Nom Nom

My Son

#Juneathoning around, under dark skies in Trentham today (#Runkeeper), I realised that the future is bright, and we have so much to look forward to… Live for the moment, as you never get these times again. Tomorrow we will be doing birthday ‘stuff’, and it will be a very short run and blog, so for the record, ‘Happy Birthday’ son, for tomorrow…

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 75.82
Total KM = 122.02
Total Calories = 9,319

Equivalents
Big Macs = 19.0
Pints of Strongbow = 38.8
Days Worth Calories = 4.7
Journeys to Work = 5.45

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #Juneathon Day 12 – And the Rains Came

  1. Helen says:

    Oh have a lovely day tomorrow, today was my daughter’s birthday and I had many similar feelings to you!

  2. 75 miles….nice work!

Leave a Reply

