#Juneathon Day 5 – Hazy Days, and Sorry…

Allow me to start with an apology. Yesterdays #Juneathon post may have lead some readers to believe that the term ‘Skedge’ was a phrase coined by myself. This is not the case, and was in fact coined by my good friend, ‘Floydwarb’. I have also discovered that ‘Skedge’ is also used to describe the practice of skidding in fridges, or sleeping in hedges, or some other such bizarre practice. However, having wandered rough-shod over The Warb’s artistic licence, I now owe him ‘some beer’ in order to compensate him accordingly.

Hooray! Perhaps we’ll go down the park?

Anyway, to today’s run: It has been a hazy day, and cooler than of late. I was going to wait until Mrs Trenthamfolk returned from her ‘Bootcamp with Gail‘ training this evening, however, sat at my desk and being afforded the luxury of flexitime, I decided to knock off early and get my run in whilst I was motivated. I hit the road at approximately 16:30 pm and almost immediately realised it has warmer that I had imagined.

Before too long sweat was pouring down my face in into my eyes, the technical top I was sporting was wringing wet, and my feet were sliding about inside my trainers! Pedestrians moved out of the way as I lurched past, doing my best to look ‘hard core’ and ‘professional’, but failing miserably. It was rush hour as I ran along the main road. Cars were everywhere and it came as something of a relief, not to be able to cross the road for sheer volume of traffic.

Pooped!

Pooped!

Sometimes you know you just look a wreck, and Junior’s classmate’s Dad gave me an oddly concerned look as I staggered through the chaos that was the free-for-all outside Bargain Booze. A little light relief came when a toddler sprayed me with a hosepipe as I ran past their garden, and I almost stopped and have an impromptu shower as he cackled with laughter. Back onto the canal for the final half mile people were out in the gardens that overlook the canal: the same people who have been outside the last few times I have run past. The must think me insane by now. Perhaps I am, but I’m absolutely loving it, and have another five and a bit miles in the bag (#Runkeeper).

However, there is no rest for the wicked. I now have to prepare supper for Mrs Trenthamfolk, and try to time it perfectly for after she’s finished her exercise class. Fish and Chips tonight my love?

Update! I made Moroccan chicken with couscous… bloomin’ lovely it was too…

Juneathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 33.46
Total KM = 53.85
Total Calories = 4,015

Equivalents
Big Macs = 8.2
Pints of Strongbow = 16.7
Days Worth Calories = 2.0
Journeys to Work = 2.41

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

