Janathon 2013: Day 27 – Goodbye Mr Snowman

It came overnight… not me, unfortunately, but the thaw. This morning I looked through the fuzzy window of my hung-over eyes (courtesy of our lovely neighbours), and saw green for the first time in a week… welcome back normal world, goodbye Mr Snowman. Except, the normal world isn’t quite with us, as we now have flooding to contend with.

Mr Snowman

Mr Snowman

Unbelievably, another silly wench had to be rescued when they drove their vehicle into eight feet of flood water in precisely the same spot as before (see previous blog), and as I Janathoned it round the bottom half of the city this afternoon, the River Trent funnelled through it’s man-made concrete diversion by the A500, was in roaring away in full flood. We have another few more days of craziness ahead of us it would seem.

Which brings me nicely on to the last few days of Janathon. With four days to go, I need to complete another 15 miles to break through the 150 mile barrier. I also need to run five miles a day to ensure my daily average is above five miles a day for the month.

Today I was going to do my 3.4 mile loop but was inspired by a quote I saw on line this morning:

“Only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go”- TS Eliot.

Sod the three miles, lets double it… forget the hangover, you need this… Off I went, and now have 7 miles in the bag (Runkeeper). My addiction has been satisfied for today, at least. Today’s run was a battle with strong winds and hail, peppered with randomly abandoned gloves and piles of dog-turd… why the hell don’t people pick it up when it snows? I got home, and had one word on my mind: Boom!!!

What on earth am I going to do in February?

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 135.55
Total KM = 218.15
Total Calories = 17,355

Equivalents
Big Macs = 35.4
Pints of Strongbow = 72.3
Days Worth Calories = 8.7
Journeys to Work = 9.75

New Season of Top Gear tonight though.. can’t wait!

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

