Janathon 2013: Day 25 – Happy Sad Day

Today I went to a funeral. On such occasions it is customary to wear black, so this morning I donned a black tie, jumped into the car and headed up to Lancashire to be with my friend. The black thing has always mystified me a little. Above tradition, I really don’t see the association, as today was an uplifting tribute to a great person, and a celebration of a life.

The person we were paying tribute to today was a husband, a father, a grandfather and a friend to all. Everyone he met, he made feel like a life-long friend. He was talented, kind, generous, strong, and a privilege to know. Tommy will be sorely missed, but just writing about him makes me smile. Heartfelt tributes from Tommy’s son’s made us all chuckle… his trademark sense of humour, the ability to captivate a room of people and make them laugh, the constant mowing of the lawn… his love of tennis. By the time we parted company, everyone was smiling, happy in remembrance of a person who touched the lives of everyone he encountered.

So today, I returned home from a 200 mile round-trip and hit the road for a Janathon run (Runkeeper). As I ran through the sleet and the snow, I put away the last shades of sadness, and took the time to remember Tommy and the amazing influence he had on us all. Today began with a sombre air, but ended happy. Today was his day.

Steffi Graf

I mentioned Tommy’s love of tennis… I’ll let you in on a little secret. It wasn’t tennis he loved, it was Steffi Graf. If you’re up there Tommy, sat next to the big cheese, cast you eyes this way. This ones for you!

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 123.01
Total KM = 197.97
Total Calories = 15,784

Equivalents
Big Macs = 32.2
Pints of Strongbow = 65.8
Days Worth Calories = 7.9
Journeys to Work = 8.85

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Janathon 2013: Day 25 – Happy Sad Day

  1. shazruns says:

    I too never got the black for funeral thing, in fact when my grandmother died at a ripe age I wore a red dress, a colour she loved me in and we celebrated who she was. Your Janathon stats are impressive

  2. Trenthamfolk says:

    Thank you Shaz… I’m aching but only 6 days to go!!!

Leave a Reply

