Janathon 2013: Day 20 – Spaghetti Running

Oh, my head… I thought Janathon was supposed to focus the mind on exercise, healthy eating, and not drinking too much? Half a bottle of Jim Beam suggests that last night I ‘may’ have forgotten what I was supposed to be doing today: Getting up and going for a bleeding run!

I woke up this morning with one thing on my mind – Food. I was ravenous… could have eaten a horse, but as Tesco was closed. We opted to hurl some clothes on and make our way to the local Toby Carvery and indulge in their hearty all-you-can-eat breakfast. Six rashers of bacon, three sausages, two eggs, gammon, cheese and potato hash, baked beans, two hash browns and toast… a breakfast fit for a drunk, that’s what it was. I yummed it up, returned home, and went back to bed. ZzzzZzzz….

Some time later, I arose, and knew I had to do something. We opted to go to the local park and take Trenthamfolk Jnr sledging again. The park is exactly 1KM away, so I would run (using the term loosely, you understand) whilst the family drove. We would then lark about until Mrs Trenthamfolk got cold (5 minutes then?) then I would run back home. Janathon done! Well, it was horrible… That monster breakfast was sitting heavy on my tummy, and I had a thumping head. Local kids were attacking me with snowballs… the calves were killing me, as were the arms (what the hell had I been doing?). Oh well, I thought, It’s my own fault. I’m paying the price.

Feet

Feet

Once at the park, we got to work on the surprisingly steep incline. I had a close call with a football post at about 25 mph, and Jnr was freaking his mum out by literally hurling himself into the void like a sky-diver without a parachute. With a pang of guilt, I decided to run around the adjacent rugby fields and add a bit of distance.

The snow was about a foot deep in parts, and I wasn’t feeling the love… or was I? When Mrs Trenthamfolk’s nerves were shot to hell, we headed home. I left the park via another exit and miraculously, started to feel alive… Runkeeper shortly informed me I had completed just two miles. It wasn’t enough.

What then ensued was the decision to extend the run home, past the short-cut I would normally take, going the long way round and running round in circles, all over the estate. Hence my map looks like a bowl of spaghetti. Good lord, I was feeling it… The love! The calves were still hurting, but I was so happy in my little running space and my pace was improving. I could have and wanted to go on for another few ‘loops’, but I was mindful of my weary muscles, so a measly 3.73 miles was my eventual total. Considering that 45 minutes earlier I was aiming to accomplish 2KM without throwing up, I’m quite chuffed.

I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. You’re only ever one run away from a good mood. Today, I proved myself right.

Knackered

Knackered

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 97.78
Total KM = 157.36
Total Calories = 12,563

Equivalents
Big Macs = 25.6
Pints of Strongbow = 52.3
Days Worth Calories = 6.3
Journeys to Work = 7.03

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

