Janathon 2013: Day 18 – Janathon Junkie

Today was my ‘day off’: a chance to kick back and do my own thing, watch a film, surf the web, eat cheese and generally please myself. After last nights Dining with Vining, and the accompanying hangover, I was looking forward to having my own space for a few hours and chilling out. I did chill, but not quite in the way I had anticipated.

Wife and son left the house early-doors, and I peeped out of the window. A thin blanket of white covered the ground, nothing spectacular, and the house was warm. I shuffled into the kitchen, to find a shopping list of groceries left for me. Hmm… As I sat sipping coffee and watching Lance Armstrong pretend to cry on the telly, I noticed that the snow had begun to fall more heavily. Perhaps I should hit the supermarket.

The place was deserted…  a few cars (perhaps 50) were scattered about huge the car park. This struck me as odd. Yes, the roads were bad, but I drove slowly in a low gear, and all was well… The abundant staff were clearly at a loose end, and were japing about in the isles… the shelves were fully stocked, and I dashed about and grabbed what was needed. The journey home took a little longer due to people not wanting to exceed 5 miles a day… I mean, honestly, it’s just a little snow? When I got in, my mind was already on Janathon.

Snowy Trentham

Snowy Trentham

I hit the slopes, and immediately noticed that there was more grip in the virgin snow than anywhere else. It also sapped the energy that bit quicker. You have to lift your foot clear of the snowfall (about 6″ here), and as you push forward, you lose some of the energy in the small slip that accompanies every stride. Pedestrians were staggering about like dancing on ice contestants on the first show. They looked at me like I was an alien from another world or something. Exercise is generally frowned upon in Stoke, but this was freaking people out.

The man road was at a general standstill. I felt great as a leapt along and passed the crawling cars… BMW’s behaving like sledges (does anyone at the dealership tell the they won’t work in the snow?), people carriers full of excited school kids with exasperated mum’s at the wheel, white van men trying to force their way through… it was all quite comical. And satisfying… I was making progress, on foot!

Snowy Hanford

Snowy Hanford

I got back thoroughly knackered, but delighted by my first experience of running in the snow (Runkeeper). As I ran down my street the neighbours were outside playing in the snow… A runner? No way… Oh, it’s you! What are you doing running? I honestly didn’t have an answer… I just said it seemed like a good idea at the time. and it bloody was. It was brilliant. My pace was 40 seconds a mile slower than usual, but the effort deployed was much greater. I felt like I’d worked out. I felt fantastic. I’ve turned into a Janathon Junkie.

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 89.90
Total KM = 144.68
Total Calories = 11523

Equivalents
Big Macs = 23.5
Pints of Strongbow = 48.0
Days Worth Calories = 5.8
Journeys to Work = 6.47

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

