Janathon 2013: Day 14 – Snow! Who’d Have Thought?

Well, the snow came, as predicted… and went again, just as quickly. And that was that… Trenthanfolk Junior went a bit mental when he opened his curtains this morning. I remember being just as excited by the prospect of frozen rain, but now I’m a bit of a grump around the stuff… particularly as I have to drive in it.

Snowy 6am

Snowy 6am

Happily, the roads were clear by the time rush hour was over, and I sailed into town. I was met by the usual slew of cars in the car park, plonked higgledy-piggledy across the snow covered parking bays, and was amused by the sight of a very tall woman in massive heels attempting to walk across the frozen tarmac… appropriate footwear fail! I was looking forward to my run all day, and hoped it wouldn’t sap my depleted energy reserves too much.

Today’s Janathon scoot about Trentham saw me encounter the odd patch of the white stuff here and there, but the route was mercifully clear. Deep white crisp stuff is great, but the slushy icy snow-melt is not good for us runners. I had to pick my footing carefully to make sure I stayed upright. The rain was freezing as it fell, and built up in my hair. As it thawed on my scalp, it ran down my neck… this spurred me on, and I ran faster. I had Monday Blues in my legs, but I belted it back and was happy with my overall effort (Runkeeper).

Tomorrow is club run with my amazing club, Trentham RC. I hope I can maintain the pace in Walter’s group, but am aware that my legs are tired… I need some of those happy feet may friend drumble24 was talking about yesterday… or perhaps a good sports massage… or perhaps both! Mind you, 33 miles and over 4,000 calories for the week sees me above target. Onward and upwards!

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 71.42
Total KM = 114.94
Total Calories = 9203

Equivalents
Big Macs = 18.8
Pints of Strongbow = 38.3
Days Worth Calories = 4.6
Journeys to Work = 5.14

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

