Janathon 2013: Day 13 – Lazyness & Muppetry

Today’s Janathon run felt like a chore. It was warm and cozy in the house, and could easily have popped on a bit of Cafe Del Mar, closed my eyes and had a snooze. We have been swimming this morning, had a walk around the Trentham Estate, and had a Frankie & Benny’s for lunch. Consequently, this was the first run of Janathon 2013 where I have had to take a deep breath and force myself get out of the front door. I’m glad I did.

Having won the argument I was having with myself, instead of my familiar loop, I decided to extend it by a mile and a half and take in a bit of post-industrial Stoke. There’s nothing glamorous about the City Incinerator or the Michelin Tyre Factory, but the canal tow-path and roads were quiet and I motored along and averaged a respectable 9 min/mile pace (Runkeeper).

Everyone is taking about the prospect of Snow. I personally hope that it doesn’t snow, because the whole nation goes absolutely mental. We get it every year, but it still seems to take people by surprise, despite the Daily Mail telling us that we’ll be all dead my Monday. Whatever snow we have, it’ll be the ‘wrong type’, the trains will refuse to work and people will still have to be rescued from ridiculous positions they’ve managed to get themselves and their vehicles into.

The same thing happened with the floods a few weeks back. The Police put up signs – Road Closed! – but these muppet’s move the signs, and drive their brand new Fiesta Zetec’s and fake 4×4’s (Toyota Rav 4’s, you know who you are) into 1.5m of flood water regardless! I mean, what did they think was going to happen? You have to laugh, as they wind up in hospital with hypothermia, and then find their insurance won’t pay out. And it serves them bloody right. I wonder if the Fire & Rescue Service charge them for their stupidity?

Mupperty of the highest order...

Mupperty of the highest order…

But it concerns me, what goes through their minds when they do these incredibly stupid things? That said… I anticipate an occasion at some point in the coming fortnight, when I will head out onto the streets of Trentham against my better judgement, simply to satisfy the stubbornness inside of me that drives me forward. I just hope I don’t end up having to be be rescued…

Janathon is quickly becoming less a running challenge, and more an exercise in discipline: Listening to my body, knowing what I can do, what I can’t, debating with the lazy person inside of me that wants me to drink cider and eat cheese… knowing when to ease back when my passion says “run 2o miles after work!” and today, getting out of the door when my backside is glued to sofa.

And if it does snow, I have to remember that the weather is just part of the journey. 68 miles exactly – Boom!

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 68.00
Total KM = 109.44
Total Calories = 8761

Equivalents
Big Macs = 17.9
Pints of Strongbow = 36.5
Days Worth Calories = 4.4
Journeys to Work = 4.89

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Janathon 2013: Day 13 – Lazyness & Muppetry

  1. Pingback: Janathon 2013: Day 27 – Goodbye Mr Snowman | Trenthamfolk

Leave a Reply

