Janathon 2013: Day 11 – Attached to Stafford

Today I did my Janathon run (Runkeeper) at Lunch time. I knew we were having guests this evening and the house was a tip: I had to get home after work and get scrubbing without worrying about fitting a few miles in after a HUGE Chinese take-away.

So it was, at 12 sharp, I hit the road. I waved at the chap who lives down the road from me who was crossing the road and I legged it past my mate Trina’s house, and towards the edge of town. Before too long I came across a familiar face coming the other way. We stopped for a brief natter, and I zoomed off again, past my buddy Faye’s pad, and towards the house where my brother used to live. I heard a car honk it’s horn… my former driving instructor… I chucked him a wave as he mounted up the pavement (nice move bud) and carried on. A mile later, waiting at the pedestrian crossing, I bumped into one of my running students, and had another chat. As I arrived back at the office I had a natter with Tom from communications who was on his way out, and had a stretch…

For most of my childhood, the family followed my Dad’s work around middle-England. We were never in the same place for long, and I got used to putting down roots where ever I landed. As a consequence I have started to identify with the quiet and friendly town in which I now work. Today’s run has confirmed that I am starting to become a local. How the hell did that happen?

I live half an hours drive away, but I spend most daylight hours in Stafford. We visit at the weekends to go shopping. It is our destination of choice for eating out. We have family locally. I like it a lot. It may not offer the sights and sounds of Birmingham or Manchester, nor the hustle and bustle of Derby, or the night life of Nottingham. But it would seem that it’s starting to feel like home.

Today’s run was great. It felt good, despite the ache in my legs. The streets were familiar, the pathways well trodden. As I ran I saw friends, people and places I know. This makes Mrs Trenthamfolk groan, as she says she can’t take me anywhere, but makes me feel good. I feel settled. and there’s no better feeling than that. Isn’t it odd how you get attached to places? Stafford is hardly the center of the universe, but I like it.

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 58.53
Total KM = 94.19
Total Calories = 7529

Equivalents
Big Macs = 15.4
Pints of Strongbow = 31.4
Days Worth Calories = 3.8
Journeys to Work = 4.21

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Janathon 2013: Day 11 – Attached to Stafford

  1. Sounds like it’s all going well! Good job fella!

Leave a Reply

