Janathon 2013: Day 9 – Unfortunate Injuries

Well, I’ve done it. I was so close to the ’40 miles in one week’ landmark yesterday. Today I knew that if I ran just a little further than I did last Wednesday, then I’d make it. So out I went on my Janathon loop of the village, but decided to take the ‘long’ way back home, round the edge of the estate rather than through it. I arrived back home, checked my phone… and… I’d run just 0.02 miles further! Not enough. So back out I went, and an additional half mile made sure (Runkeeper).

It the last seven days I have run 40.43 miles. But it has come at a price…

Now, I don’t know why men have them, as far as I can see they are pretty useless. The evil dude in James Bond had three, poor soul. But as any seasoned male runner will testify, they can the the cause of the must unlikely, unexpected and painful injury. Yes, I am talking about the dreaded, infamous and unsightly runners nipple!

Over the years I have tried everything.

Vaseline was my first solution… however this simply got onto my training top and made it go transparent in the boob area. Not a good look, especially since the chafing still occurred and caused bleeding. Next, I tried plasters, however I have a manly chest much like Burt Reynolds. Applying plasters is all well and good until you start running. Each and every chest hair feels like it is being plucked with a pair of tweezers! You can shave the area so the plasters don’t pull, but you look pretty odd in the changing rooms or at the pool with the kids. People stare…

Often, you don’t realise you’ve picked up this terrible injury until you a) see the race photo’s (especially if you were wearing a white running top), or b) you hit the shower. And don’t even think about applying Germolene before you go to work the morning after race day. This will cause your work shirt to turn transparent, and pink at the same time. Pretty distracting when you’re in a meeting, I can tell you.

So, what’s to do? The problem is a lot less severe since I’ve lost weight and my moobs have shrunk, but today, after 9 days and over 50 miles, I’m beginning to know about it. My friend and fellow Janathoner, drumble24 (have a read of her excellent blog) saw me tweet my activity after my run, and asked if this would be the subject of my blog… yes, is the answer! But do I have the answers? No.

Can anyone out there help?

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 50.22
Total KM = 80.82
Total Calories = 6458

Equivalents
Big Macs = 13.2
Pints of Strongbow = 26.9
Days Worth Calories = 3.2
Journeys to Work = 3.61

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Janathon 2013: Day 9 – Unfortunate Injuries

  1. Sudocream? (The stuff they use on babies bums) It works for me, where my sport bra removes skin, where plasters and vaseline have failed.

  2. Pingback: Janathon Day 9 – 101 days to go… | drumble24

  3. Pingback: Janathon Day 9 – 101 days to go | drumble24

Leave a Reply

