Janathon 2013: Day 4 – Short But Sweet

Today’s Janathon run was short but sweet (Runkeeper) and now my legs have a satisfying ache which is making me feel smug. Seems I’m keeping myself under control. Last year, I made it 23 days or so into Janathon, and had to stop because I was falling apart. It made me feel bad, I felt like a quitter. A quitter never wins, and a winner never quits I told myself. I was so disappointed.

I am determined to complete Janathon in 2013. But if, for any reason I haven’t foreseen, I can’t I have resolved not to be disappointed. I’m a man, and therefore full of bravado and stubbornness, and whilst there’s a certain merit to sayings like “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try again…” if you carry on regardless, you’re going to cause yourself an injury. And then you’ll feel even worse.

Knowing when it’s sensible to quit is critical to success… but where does success lie? Perhaps I’ve become a dreamer. Audrey Tautou famously said in the film Amelie “Times are hard for dreamers.” I don’t agree. Dreamers are not disconnected from reality, dreamers are people fully connected to reality’s potential. Completing Janathon is not a dream, but it is a challenge, and by tackling life’s little challenges in a sensible way, perhaps we can realise our dreams?

Night night…

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 18.5
Total Calories = 2397

Comparators
Big Macs = 4.9
Pints Strongbow = 10.0
Days Worth = 1.2
Journeys to Work = 1.33

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

