Janathon 2013: Day 3 – It never gets easier…you only get better…

Today’s Janathon run was conducted with my friends at our newly formed workplace Runners club (Runkeeper). Having gained my Leadership In Running Fitness (LIRF) qualification, and assisted by several glamorous assistants, we congregate every Thursday after work, then run around the local town like loons. The group consists of 12 enthusiastic newbie runners who I do my best to motivate, and they are all coming along great.

The reason I volunteered to create the group, was because I wanted to share the experience of joining a supportive club (hat tip to Trentham Running Club), becoming a runner and enjoying the very real rewards. Joining a club brings about a psychological shift that allows people to call themselves ‘a runner’, rather than simply someone ‘who runs’.

The benefits of club running are quite literally, endless: Running is a great way to get away from it all, but running in a club provides access to the circle of support that can provide endless results, right from the word go. It is also a perfect way to meet other runners with who you can run, away of the club environment – especially important for the ladies on these dark winter nights. You can share experiences and advice with leaders and other runners. It’s a great way to make new friends.

I am a firm believer that whatever distance you want to cover, at whatever pace, and whatever your personal goals or motivations, running in a group will enhance your experience.

I am genuinely delighted with the progress has been made by the SCC Runners: I can see improvements in each of them, even if they can’t see it themselves! I told the squad at the beginning that it’s not the winning that counts, it’s having the courage to enter the race… Today I told them that it doesn’t get any easier, they just get better at it! None of us are running to win any races, but today I want them all to know I am proud of their progress, and want I them to be proud too.

Well done, and keep it up!

I forgot to give them homework, so if any of the team read this post, expect an email within a couple of days!

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 15.07
Total Calories = 1945

Comparators
Big Macs = 4.0
Pints Strongbow = 8.1
Days Worth = 1.0
Journeys to Work = 1.08

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

