Janathon 2013: Day 1 – The Clayton Clamber

It was always going to be a shock to the system. The Christmas holidays had (as ever) been a washout, careering from day-to-day on a surf board of festive cheer, atop a wave of bourbon induced mental incompetence. They say the Devil makes work for idle hands, but in my case it makes work for an idle gob and right-hand drinking arm. I really needed to pull my socks up.

All day I had been relishing the prospect of hitting the road with my friends from Trentham Running Club. So it was with enthusiasm that I rolled up in the deserted car park at 6:20 for the 6:30 start… There was barely a soul to be seen, just a few lonely figures sat in cars (including my old mate Jim – welcome back bud), the familiar glow of smartphones illuminating their faces. My heart sank.

IMG_1899

The barren wasteland of running club car park…

Sure enough however, after a few uncertain minutes (during which my friend Hazel helpfully suggested I just go home!) a few hardy folk began to arrive. These were followed up at the last minute by Crazy Walt. We were joined by in middle group by a couple of our ‘fast runners’, and as @taxilii60 headed up the group of about 12, we hit the road for what I expected to be a light, post-holiday jog. Oh dear!

The route we did is known (at least to me) as the Clayton Clamber (#Runkeeper) and starts off flat, then a steep(ish) incline for a mile and a half, and couple of miles descent, rounded off by the customary uphill back to the club. It was tough going and I was knackered after the flat bit. Christmas excess was resulting acid reflux… I was getting cramps in my calf muscles, stitch was creeping in and I was so out of breath I couldn’t even gossip! How could I have dropped off so badly, so quickly, I asked myself?

I was last man back up to the clubhouse, and was feeling thoroughly ashamed of my effort. However I was in for a pleasant surprise. My average pace was bang on 9 minute miles, matching my race-pace from the Flying Fox 10 miler a few weeks prior…  I didn’t expect that. I am consequently now quietly chuffed, and wonder what I may be able to do when I’m back in shape. #Janathon Day 1 has been a success: bring on the next thirty days.

Janathon 2013 Stats
Total Miles = 6.32
Total Calories = 847

Comparators
Big Macs = 1.7
Pints of Strongbow = 3.5
Days Worth Calories = 0.4
Equivalent Journeys to Work = 0.45

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

