Janathon: Day 8 – For the Love of Old Trainers

What is it with new trainers? Is it the inability to get them on? The blisters perhaps? Who cares, I hate them. My latest pair are exactly the same as my last pair. Asics Gel Enduro 6’s that can cope with the road and trail in equal measure. They arrived yesterday, and today I decided to start breaking them in, even though I really did not feel like it. I decided upon a nice and flat, five mile route to ease me into the coming week.

It was horrible. It felt like my feet were encased in concrete. After just a mile, I was running flat footed and my shins were killing me. I made it almost two miles in (Runkeeper) and turned back. Defeated. All I wanted was to slip back into the soft, familiar comfort of my old pumps. Alas, my ‘old and faithful’s’ have taken me more than 700 miles, and I know continuing our relationship will do more harm than good in the long term. It’s time to move on.

I missed the Sunday club run this morning, as Mrs Trenthamfolk allowed me to sleep in. I awoke after nine, and immediately knew that the brief but enjoyable fling I had with the Riesling and Old Speckled Hen the night before had also done me more harm than good. The noise of the cat breathing downstairs was causing me quite exquisite discomfort. I’d done it again. I recognise that booze is my Achilles Heel, and the main reason I’m fat. The only time I ever said ‘no’ to a drink was when I misunderstood the question. I really must try harder. From now on I’m resolved never go for a run in new trail shoes whilst hung over during Janathon. There. I’m a new man.

Sort of…

Total miles to date: 35.51    Total calories burnt: 5,133

About Trenthamfolk

Marathon Runner, Optimist, Joie de vivre…
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

